ATVs are only legal on roads without a yellow line, and in some areas you can drive up to ten miles from the starting point on any road. Driver`s license: A driver`s license is required to use public roads. The bill allows traditional SUVs to operate up to 20 miles on the road. This allows people to access trails without using a trailer, easily fill up with gas in the middle of a trip and do farm work, Maynard said. PHEVs that are not authorized to travel on the road can still use the right side of non-centered roads for limited distances to connect trails. You can also use the hard shoulders of most highways in the state. Unlicensed PHEVs are discussed in more detail in the final section. To drive on the road, an ATV must follow a number of regulations, including turn signals, mirrors, a horn, and DOT tires. The inspection, registration and insurance process is carried out with the Department of Motor Vehicles. It is best to always wear a helmet to protect yourself from head trauma in the event of an accident, even if this is not required by the law on private property. (j) The owner of a special purpose vehicle operated as a road-approved special purpose vehicle shall ensure that the vehicle is equipped with: West Virginia law states that PHEVs may cross public roads at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the roadway, in a place where a rapid crossing, Safe and unhindered is possible after overtaking in front of the emergency lane (or road surface, if there is no hard shoulder) have stopped completely and given way to traffic.
Headlights and taillights must be switched on, if equipped. Many locations have opened routes for PHEVs linked to the Hatfield-McCoy trail system, allowing cyclists to connect sections of trails without the need for a truck and trailer. Be sure to check local resources in advance, as not all public roads in these areas are open to ORVs. Contact your local VDD, local law enforcement or the Hatfield Mc-Coy Regional Recreation Authority for more information. If your vehicle is not approved for driving on the road, you are still allowed to cross the public road by respecting the following rules: Note that not all SUVs are made for passengers and it is illegal to carry an additional driver on a single-driver ATV. West Virginia allows certain off-road vehicles to register as Authorized Special Purpose Vehicles (VPS) on the road. SPVs can be driven on central roads across the state for up to 20 miles at speeds of up to 40 miles per hour. You will also need to register and insure your ATV to comply with the law. All road drivers also need a valid driver`s license.
West Virginia ATV riders who are injured in driving accidents may legally be entitled to compensation if their accidents are due to another person`s reckless or reckless actions. It got to the point where Gravely Polaris started stockpiling turn signal kits and road-approved tires so they wouldn`t have to order them all the time. Smalley said the typical upgrade to make a side-by-side road legal is $1,000 to $1,500. If you have been injured in an SUV accident, contact Miley Legal Group`s experienced ATV accident attorneys today for a free consultation to discuss the details of your accident and injuries. BECKLEY, WV (WVNS) – ATV RIDERS CAN NOW HIT THE ROADS WITHOUT FEAR OF GETTING A TICKET. ATVs are now legal on the street in some scenarios. As of February 4, 2020, it will now be possible to make your ATV or UTV street legal in West Virginia. Thanks to Chad Freeman for providing us with the updated legislation! In addition to the requirements described below, you must register and register your ATV or UTV in the same way as registering a motorcycle. The bill was drafted and co-funded by Sen.
Mark Maynard, R-Wayne, and aimed to expand legislation passed in the early 2000s that allowed ATVs to be driven on certain roads without requiring safety precautions. The law states that to operate on the road, ATVs and SxS must have certain safety equipment to be legal. West Virginia`s traffic laws regarding ATVs, UTVs, and side-by-sides have changed. Under Senate Bill 690, passed in March 2020, drivers can now drive their vehicles on certain public roads with certain restrictions. Passengers are not permitted to drive their vehicles on controlled access roads, highways or roads that a county, municipality or Department of Natural Resources has defined as closed to special vehicles. A new law in West Virginia, Senate Bill 690, states that you must equip your ATV or side-by-side to make it road legal so it can pass inspection. To pass the inspection, ATVs need headlights, turn signals, and even a windshield or pair of goggles, as well as other specifications. For your ATV or UTV to be street legal in West Virginia, it must first be equipped with all of the following devices: There are always significant limitations if you can`t ride an ATV or UTV, even if it`s legal on the street.
They are as follows: VPDs cannot operate on highways, controlled access highways or roads where local regulations prohibit their use. Local ordinances may prohibit VPDs in all or part of a city, city or county, or on certain roads. For some, these restrictions lead them to seek more traffic legality in West Virginia and beyond, such as registration as a regular passenger vehicle or registration out of state. Let`s look at those options now. Many people are already rushing to modify their vehicles so they can drive on the roads, said Matt Smalley, director of Gravely Polaris of Dunbar. He received about five calls a day from people asking what needs to be done to legalize existing off-roaders. If you only drive your vehicle on private land, the vehicle only needs to have a title and the following traffic law requirements do not apply. West Virginia allows unregistered off-road vehicles to drive on the right-hand side of single-lane and two-lane non-axis roads for up to 10 miles at a speed limit of 25 miles per hour for trail use purposes. Local ordinances may further restrict action in certain areas. Out-of-State Registered Vehicles: West Virginia does not have specific helmet laws for street-approved UTVs registered in other states. Since helmets are mandatory for occupants under the age of 18 in all other circumstances, we recommend that you do the same, as local law enforcement is more familiar with them.
DUNBAR, W.Va (WSAZ) — Drivers are now allowed to ride their ATVs and other SUVs on most West Virginia roads under Senate Bill 690, passed in March.