On January 22, 2022, New York City updated its quarantine and isolation policies to align with the recent reduction in (i) the recommended time for isolation after a COVID-19 diagnosis for individuals, regardless of vaccination status, and (ii) the recommended quarantine period after exposure to COVID-19 for vaccinated individuals. New York State has also updated its policies to reflect these changes. It should be noted that people who work in certain environments (e.g. schools or healthcare or care facilities) may be subject to different requirements. Employers should note that in many cases, the updated guidelines will shorten the period during which insured employees will be eligible for emergency sick leave and/or paid family leave/disability benefits from New York under the New York State COVID-19 Leave Act, which requires employers to grant certain leave to employees subject to mandatory quarantine or isolation orders or preventive due to COVID-19. be subject to. Under current CDC guidelines, people exposed to other people with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are no longer required to quarantine. Instead, they should wear a high-quality mask or respirator around others for 10 days and should be tested for the virus five days or more after exposure, even if they don`t develop symptoms. Regardless of vaccination status, people who have symptoms or test positive for COVID-19 must self-isolate for at least five days or 24 hours after symptoms disappear and wear one mask after another for 10 days.
As with all things COVID-19 and the workplace, employers should continue to monitor new developments in the legal landscape and consult with knowledgeable advisors on COVID-19 isolation, quarantines and paid leave. The latest CDC guidelines lifted the preventive quarantine requirement for all people exposed to COVID-19 who remained asymptomatic, regardless of vaccination status. The New York guidelines had previously imposed critical differences based on vaccination status. People who were up to date with a series of COVID-19 vaccines and booster shots did not have to quarantine after exposure to COVID, while those who were not up to date with booster shots had to quarantine. The CDC revised its guidelines for schools and other public places on Aug. 11 to make contact tracing, quarantine, and testing recommendations easier for people who don`t have symptoms after exposure in most settings. The only exceptions are health facilities and high-risk facilities such as correctional facilities and homeless shelters. Individuals who are not up to date with their COVID-19 vaccines (and who have not been infected with COVID-19 in the past 90 days) must quarantine for five (5) days from the date of last contact. These individuals should be tested at least five days after their last close contact, or immediately if they develop symptoms of COVID-19 (and begin isolation as described above if they are positive). You should also hide 10 days after the last date of close contact.
Note: The above notes for shortened isolation and quarantine do not apply to moderately to severely immunocompromised individuals or unable to wear a mask for a full 5 days. It also does not apply to children under 2 years old, who are not advised to wear masks. Individuals in these categories should self-isolate and/or quarantine for a full 10 days. While New York appears to have abandoned preventive quarantine by adopting CDC guidelines, the state Department of Health and Human Services has also updated its quarantine confirmation form, which employees fill out and “may be used as if it were an individual quarantine order issued by a county public health commissioner.” Employees subject to a mandatory or preventive quarantine order may be eligible for paid sick leave in New York COVID-19. For example, the state Department of Health and Human Services still allows employees to use the quarantine confirmation to trigger New York COVID-19 paid sick leave for preventive quarantines for themselves or a child or dependent, even if that leave is no longer recommended by the CDC. The sept. 14, the New York State Department of Health has updated its COVID-19 quarantine and isolation website to remove previous COVID-19 guidelines and written charts dated May 31. The website now says New York is following the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines of Aug.
24 regarding COVID-19 quarantine and isolation. New York City students will no longer have to quarantine after exposure to COVID-19 in the upcoming school year, Gov. Kathy Hochul announced Monday. Asymptomatic individuals who (1) are up-to-date with their COVID-19 vaccines (as defined above) or (2) have been infected with COVID-19 within the past 90 days, which has been confirmed by a positive viral test (measured from the date on which the person first developed symptoms of COVID-19 or, if she is asymptomatic, the date of her first positive test), do not need to be quarantined. However, you should get tested five days after your last close contact or right after developing symptoms of COVID-19 (and start isolating if you test positive). These individuals must also mask 10 days after the date of the last close contact. You do not need to quarantine as long as you continue to have no symptoms of COVID-19, but you should follow the guidelines below. Test & Trace has kept abreast of all the new pieces affecting New York City, including how we manage isolation, quarantine, and protecting the population from serious illness. New York State recently released updated guidelines for cases and contacts. You can visit the New York State Department of Health website and review updated isolation and quarantine policies for other updates that may occur in the future. Updated state and New York City guidelines require that all individuals – regardless of vaccination status – who test positive for COVID-19 or who have symptoms of COVID-19 be isolated for at least five (5) days from the late onset of symptoms or the date of their positive test.