When hunting, especially with a firearm, safety should be a top priority. Follow the four basic rules of firearms safety: treat each firearm as if it were loaded, always keep your gun`s mouth pointed in a safe direction, keep your finger off the trigger until you`re ready to fire, and be sure of your target and what`s behind it. Statewide Deer Permit: This permit is divided into five different types of permits. The national permit for archery and muzzle magazines is sold indefinitely to residents, while the permit for non-residents is limited in quantity. This permit applies to all deer except antlerless mule deer. The Virginia National Goat Permit is limited in quantity and is valid for one Virginia male and is a seasonal choice. This information is subject to change, for more information and to verify the data for all game visits: outdoornebraska.ne.gov/huntingnebraska The three basic hunting methods in the state are archery, muzzle magazine, and firearm. There are other unique seasons that occur in different administrative units or apply to landowners or age groups. In this article, we will discuss the different seasons, permits and rules of deer hunting in Nebraska.
Before planning the hunt in Nebraska, you must first read and understand the rules and regulations. Even if you hire a guide, you may inadvertently break the law if you are misled by the guide. First, take the time to understand the rules. Just not knowing is no excuse, and it could be expensive. Here is a list of some important rules you should understand before hunting deer in Nebraska. This list is certainly not an exhaustive list of all regulations, so read and understand the Nebraska Hunting Guide to learn about the requirements that may apply to you. For gun season, hunters can hunt with modern rifles, handguns, shotguns, muzzle magazines, and archery equipment, as described above. Rifles must be at least .22 caliber and provide at least 900 feet of energy over 100 meters, or they can be .357 Magnum or .45 Colt.
Handguns must provide at least 400 feet of energy per 50 meters. Shotguns must be 20 or more gauge and shoot a single snail. Buckshot is not allowed. For some hunters, a hunter training course is mandatory before deer hunting. For hunters between the ages of 12 and 29 who hunt with a firearm, proof of successful completion of a firearms hunter training course must be worn during the hunt. All deer caught outside of the firearms season in November must be verified by remote control. This can be done online or by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call the phone number on the permit or visit OutdoorNebraska.org/deercheck. This certificate can be obtained from the Commission de la chasse et des parcs and expires each year on December 31. It can only be renewed the following year and can only be purchased once in a lifetime.
Hunters with this certificate must be accompanied by a licensed adult 19 years of age or older. The adult may only accompany a maximum of two hunters and must always communicate visually and verbally without assistance with the hunter. To prevent deer from congregating, do not use bait that attracts deer. The longer deer stay in an area, the more it can become a hotspot for CWD because of feces and urine on the ground. If you need to get rid of the carcass parts of a slaughtered deer, do not let them rot outside and potentially contaminate the soil. Place them in a thick plastic bag and throw them in a landfill. The carcase may be separated into loins and quarters, with the femur and shoulder blade naturally attached, provided that the head accompanies the carcase to the checkpoint. During the November firearms season, only hunters with a valid, uncompleted deer licence may hunt wildlife other than deer with centre fire rifles or centre firearms, provided they are hunting in the administrative unit for which their deer licence is valid. Fall Turkey Licence holders, which are only required for deer hunting with firearms during the November season, are permitted to hunt turkey with legal shotguns or archery rifles during the November firearms season.
It is illegal for a person to detect, locate or monitor a wild animal or bird using aircraft (including drones) on a day before or during an open season and to transmit information about the location of that animal or bird to a person or group of people by radio or other electronic device (including photographs of unmanned aerial vehicles). The use of aircraft (including drones) at any time to hunt, drive, harass, hunt or harass wild birds or wild animals is illegal. There is no limit to the length of time wild birds or wildlife can be owned. This can be done by phone or online here. After answering a few questions, you will receive a seal number and a security code. List them on your deer permit as this is proof of completion of the registration process. The permit must remain with the deer carcass until it is processed and stored. November gun season begins on the second Saturday in November and ends eight days later. The muzzle loading season is open from December 1 to December 31. Other types of seasons depend on the permit described above and may include one or all three hunting methods. Hunters of the same age who hunt with a bow or crossbow must also carry proof of having taken a bowhunter training course during the hunt. All young hunters 15 years of age or younger must be accompanied by a licensed adult 19 years of age or older.
Hunters between the ages of 12 and 29 who have not completed the course may also receive a Hunter Apprentice Training Exemption Certificate. Shooting time – It is legal to film 30 minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset. Immediately after the capture of a deer, the hunter must drill holes in the permit indicating the species, sex and date of killing. The cancelled licence must be kept with the deer at all times. Some permits may be limited in number and selected by random draw. You can apply for these permits at the end of June, with the draw on July 1. You can also buy “points” for these drawings. Hunters with the most points are shot first, so the more points you have, the better your chances. Other authorizations may be quota authorizations; They have sold only a limited number and are sold on a first-come, first-served basis. Muzzle-loading handguns must provide at least 400 feet of energy over 50 metres.
Review the manufacturer`s data and load receipt to meet this requirement. Muzzle-loading rifles must be .44 gauge or higher. Muzzle-loading muskets must be .62 gauge or larger and pull only one screw. Modern firearms cannot be used this season. It is permitted to sell the skin, hair, hooves, bones and antlers of deer that are legally taken. The sale or purchase of deer meat is illegal. If you hunt from a stand of trees or an elevated position, you will avoid a fall injury. Most people believe that the majority of hunting accidents are due to firearm injuries.
It has been found that more hunting injuries are caused by falling tree stands than in any other accident. Understand how to properly use your tree population and always check them before going hunting. Mule Deer Conservation Area (MDSA): This permit is only valid for MMA during the firearms and muzzle loading season in November. There is a permit for each unit in the CMLA, with some of the most requested permits being issued with a drawing. There is a limited number of each permit, with varying quantities and types of deer that can be caught in each unit. CWD can be spread through direct contact between deer or through contact with infected surfaces. Prions are excreted by an infected animal in saliva, urine, feces and blood. Prions can survive in soil for an extended period of time, and once in an area, there is no known method of eliminating them. Deer carcasses, especially their brains and spinal cords, can contain prions, and when they disintegrate, they are absorbed into the soil. Hunter training is mandatory for hunters between the ages of 12 and 29 who hunt with a firearm or air rifle. Bowhunter training is required for these age groups while hunting big game with a bow and arrow or crossbow.
You must have proof of certification. Spears can only be thrown by hand, slingshots and aerial bows are not allowed. Arrows and spears must have a widehead or sharpened hunting head with blades with a radius of at least 7/16 inches. Firearms of any kind are not permitted during the archery season. Updated on 03.04.2020 – “muzzle-loading rifles of .44 calibre or more muzzle-loading muskets of .62 calibre or more firing a single worm muzzle-loading rifles, muzzle-loading handguns and muskets as defined above. Visors – It is illegal to use electrical devices to amplify natural light or project a beam of light or image onto a target, including night or infrared vision telescopes and laser sights.